I live in a lizard graveyard

The house I live in is big, wooden, and somewhat open to the elements. As a result, it’s full of lizards in the summer, who spend their lives eating insects, avoiding Dr. Kitten, and delighting me daily. I find their corpses all over the place, and rarely bother to dispose of them. Here’s a selection of various stages of decomposition. Please observe the intricate textures!

If you like, you can view larger versions of these pics here. Also, I have a video of one of these lizards eating a gecko on Youtube here. Be advised that I came across this horribly fascinating scene and filmed it, not being able to do anything for the gecko (and even if I could have done something I wouldn’t– this is how life works). I’m not a sadist, folks… just someone who is awed by nature.

~ by plastron on July 27, 2008.

One Response to “I live in a lizard graveyard”

  1. Wowsers, beautiful pics Chris! Have you seen Dr. Suess’s Unorthodox Taxidermy? Check out this:
    http://www.thecuriouslife.com/?p=58

    and this:
    http://cre.ations.net/creation/dr-seuss-inspired-unorthodox-taxidermy-creature

Leave a Reply

 
